Statutory Assessments

This year the 2021 statutory assessments for all year groups have been cancelled 

SATs papers are the statutory tests taken by primary school children to test their knowledge of the national curriculum, as well as monitor the school’s progress as a whole.

Your child will sit two sets of SATs exams: one in key stage 1, when they’re in year 2 and around 6-7 years old, and a second in key stage 2, when they’re in year 6 and around 10-11 years old.

SATs are taken during the summer school term, generally in May of each year.

On entry to school, teachers undertake a baseline assessment of all reception pupils. The information gathered is used to provide the basis for how schools measure the progress each child makes during their primary school career. 

In year 1 all children are assessed on their phonic knowledge. Any child who doesn't achieve the pass mark (which was 32/40 last year) will re-take the test in year 2. 

When children are in year 2, they sit maths, reading and grammar papers. Writing is teacher assessed. 

In year 6 children sit reading, maths and grammar papers and writing is teacher assessed. 

Click here for a parents' guide to the KS2 SATs assessments. 

Grange Primary School

Contact Us

Tel: 01268 734420



Elder Avenue

Wickford, Essex, SS12 0LR